Students should always question what they are taught instead of accepting it passively.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The word "why" holds immense power in the context of learning. Curiosity does not kill the cat, it creates the hunger for knowledge, and gets one to strive to become erudite. One must always have the fire in his belly to gather the courage and question things happening around him instead of being credulous.

Right from childhood, parents should instil the quality of being curious among children. “Why is the sky blue?”, “how do insects fly”, etc are rudimentary questions that arise in the naïve minds of children. These questions must be addressed by the teachers instead of being didactic. It is scientifically proven that curiosity and wonder are the prime qualities that develop the brain at a much faster pace, forming faster neuron connections and transduction of signals and impulses. Curiosity aids in children adopting their own sense of thinking, individuality and creativity, all fundamental qualities, that are characteristics of a well developed mind.

Throughout life, our teachers are the primary source of knowledge transfer. They are the epitome of intelligence in our eyes. Their ambition is to see the spark in the eyes of their students, the will to learn more and explore their surroundings. They are willing to take bullets of questions fired at them. Hence, one must not accept everything mentioned to be true and question what they are taught. For instance, though Einstein was not a stellar student, the curiosity in his mind never dimmed down. He would question things boldly, even if it did not get him into the good books o his teachers. This is what led him to disprove the theory that light behaves strictly as a wave and laid down the foundation that light can also behave as particles in motion. It is thus implied that great discoveries are the by product of the strong desire to learn and question things simultaneously.

Gravity would not have been discovered if not for Sir Isaac Newton and his insane curiosity. Had he not been under that apple tree, this discovery would not have been made so quickly. Mundane folk would apathetic regarding why the apple fell on their head, but Newton was that needle in the haystack. His assiduous curiosity led to the formulation of the laws of motion. There are some anecdotes that mention that he would tirelessly question his professors in college. Such curious minds are rare to find but we must all aspire to be like him and evoke this great quality in our minds.

In conclusion, curiosity keeps one on his tip toes and his brain active. He becomes observant of the new changes in his surroundings which open up a realm of possible answers to a question. Asking questions is a salient quality that makes the brain and its connections stronger and leads to a better individual.