The increasingly rapid pace of life today causes more problems than it solves. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Life has always been a rat race. This notion begins in when a child begins attending school and sticks with you till you are content with life. Unhealthy competition benefits nobody. For instance, in India, when students complete their 12th grade, many of them attempt the IIT-JEE exam. This exam is one of the most arduous examinations in the world. Qualifying this exam guarantees the student admission to one of the most prestigious institutions- IIT. The preparation for this exam begins when the student is in grade 8 itself. This immense neck and neck competition is forced onto a fraction of students who cannot deal with the pressure. This ultimately as led to problems like depression and anxiety. The students are overcome with lassitude.

Advancements in technology have been and are replete with benefits for mankind. They have made life easier and efficient. It also comes with its drawbacks. To quote Newton’s law of motion, “every action has an equal and opposite reaction”. For instance, the invention of motor vehicles has been the greatest boon to man. It has made transport extremely convenient. Opulence has resulted in every person owning a vehicle today. Pollution levels, as a result have exceeded all limits resulting in greenhouse effect and global warming. It has also caused a multitude of respiratory infections, babies born with genetic defects and has had ill-effects on the food chain. These problems overshadow this landmark of an achievement.

When our parents narrate stories to us, they talk about how they had a relaxed outlook to life. They had a set pace on how to go about their activities. The food that they used to eat nourished their body and soul. In order to fasten this process so that we do not waste time cooking, fast food has become the new fad. There are fast food joints at every nook and corner. We no longer eat for enrichment, it has become an obligation. Not to mention, fast food is designed to taste good and be addictive. As a result, obesity, diabetes and other health issues are on the rise.

This fast-paced life despite being thrilling and a rollercoaster of emotions, has resulted in man biting more than he can chew. It has disrupted sleep patterns and the biological clock, caused issues in the menstrual cycle, frustration, stress and agitation. Ignoring health and state of well-being is going to culminate in a reduced life span and is detrimental to mankind. It is of prime importance now to take some time for rejuvenation of the mind and body, connect with the earth.