“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum

until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Currently worldwide, the curriculum that pupils studying are a combination of various subjects, including language, mathematics, science, social studies, etc. Such course design has a fundamental goal: to ensure rudimental knowledge is deeply rooted to a youth. Afterall, it is not easy for a youngster to excavate the subject he/she is intersted in; by engaging micellaneous aspects of "cognitive stimulus", and incresing course difficulty through years of study, he/she will surely be able to find his/her strength and weakness, and therefore choose a future career that actually fits his/her talent. In addition, it costs much less for a nation to execute. By requiring students to study the same curriculum seems to be a terrific strategy.

However, every human is different, therefore it is not suitable to apply the same measurement to everyone. Known as the "King of Invention", Thomas Edison is one of the most well-known examples to contradict such arguement. He only received public education for three months, who later being dispelled directly from his principal. However, by treasuring his innate interest, he then found what he is good at: creativity. Throughout his life, he learned all by himself, and invented over 2000 items including typewriter, which brightens humanity. In retrospect, if he stayed in school in loath, tenchnology improvements may be delayed.

Last but not least, many careers have to be fostered since a very young age. Many soccer players like Lionel Messi started play since nine years old, and even moved to Spain to train systematically; Gymnastic players have relative short careers, hence it is crucial to practice since a very young age. Also, for those who has already made their mind, it is inappropriate to restrict what curriculum they should study. Strict execution for the same courses on everyone may encumber diversity and social values.

To conclude, I do not agree that a nation should require all students to study the same nation curriculum. Although it has its benefits and may be easier to apply for mass youth, we should consider the outliers that actually also pushes the era forward, and respect the education they really needed.