The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to

national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of

the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage

of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise

during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with

us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid

losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather

and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the

argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and

what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument states that due to the coverage of national and local news and weather has altered, complaints received has increased and advertisements has dropped, therefore such policies should be restored. Although it seems logical and persuasive at first, it can be apparently found to be misleading unless more evidences can be provided to the assumptions.

First, they are concerned about the complaints received from viewers. It is a common error in statistics that, it does not provide how many viewers that are actually satisfied to such arrangement. It is possible that most audiences are actually pleased but are not willing to call in, just to express their fulfillment. On the other hand, those who are loath to watch national news are more willing to complain about it. Deduce the coverage alternation as a failure by illustrating the complaints received is not a fine and logical inferring.

Next, there are many reasons that may influence advertising contracts signed. The argument should also compare the advertising renevue that other televation station got and contract signed to support its asuumption better. It is possible that due to an ad cutoff from other stations, merchandises have altered their choice to collaborate with other stations. Also, if the economy takes place, fewer profit from consumers surely happens, and that businesses would correspondingly cancel its advertisement contracts to suppress its cost.

Last but not least, it is not evident that by changing the coverage percentages of programs back may come into rescue. It is probable that audiences have changed their preferred television station, and that such re-alter may even upset those who are grateful to watch more naitonal news. In addition, as the preference of the audience receiving information gradually changes with time, sources like radio, internet or even newspapers are also latent rivals for advertisement contracts. Local businesses may tend to sign contracts to either social media, and that increasing the proportion of local news and weather cannot grant to solve the declined revenue from advertisements.

To conclude, I do not appreciate the reasons that the argument displayed are appropriate and sufficient to make such statement. Before any decision is made afterwards, more investigations, explicit data and proof should be provided to support such argument and persuade the televisinon CEO.