“Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.”

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Every species on Earth is a shining star, ornamenting our mother nature. Though biodiversity argues that saving endangered species is time consuming and costly to execute, I still approbate the endeavor people have made, and that species to preserve those animals and plants should not depend on what cause them endangered.

Most humans have reached a consensus that many species that face extinction are mostly germane to our activities, such as forest cultivation, hunting, etc. Therefore, some may propose that our responsibility to save the species is restricted only to those that are affected by us. They may take Darwin’s theory as an explanation, which assume that species on Earth are always appearing and disappearing, and that it has been a continuous process for billions of years to ensure the species are dynamically tuned to the environment. For example, dinosaurs and mammoth elephants are surely not “supposed to” exist now, since the climate does not fit their body. Also, much of the solutions for saving species are staggering costs for governments, some of them even ban stop the developing countries from economic growth, in order to save species. It would be uneven and certainly intrude intruding the soverignitysovereignty of specific nation, since they cannot decide how they are going to develop their countries. Brazil is one of the famous examples. They faced a dilemma of whether to continue cultivating the Amazon rainforest, or to stop chopping trees and sacrifice their paper industry. Some would then insist that as long as the species are not severely affected by the activities, Brazilians should be free to do what they want, instead of being supervised by other countries.

Nevertheless, those who advocated to save species that face extinction due to humans cannot even precisely identify whether each of them is under human’s threat. It has been known that extinction occurs sue due to temperature, habitats, rainfall, or even magnetic field from the Earth. Also, it is sometimes impossible to select specific species to preserve and omit the other, since many species live in the same place. Moreover, although Darwin’s theory is somewhat a mainstream view towards evolution, the minor species on the plant are still valuable to discover, since they provide lots of information of what happened, and the environmental status in different times. No one would reject a fossil of an extinct animal or plant, rather taking it with care and investigating it thoroughly; then it should also be fascinating to preserve endangered species, which is as exciting to explore the sensation of life.

Biodiversity and species preserving have been highly debated. Although some may argue to do it passively and present human’s least duty to ensure economic growth, I see every animal and plant as irreplaceable and dazzling, and more efforts is needed to keep the wildlife. In this way, not only we can learn from the species, but is also more realistic to execute species preserve as a whole.