The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

“A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt argues that a jazz music club ready to open in Monore may be lucrative, supplementing its statement by multiple evidences and facts. However, to make the argument to be even more potent, few evidences have to be further presented to substantiate the claim.

Firstly, by attending jazz festival does not fully indicate that one would also like jazz clubs. In fact, the two has plenty differences, include opening time and duration, constituents of people, and other relevant activities in music club, or at jazz festival. The prompt should acknowledge these differences before giving examples to support its idea. It would be more persuasive to provide people in Monore attending clubs outside Monore, to facilitate the idea of jazz club in Monore as highly demanded.

In addition, it is far from evident to prove that jazz club can be profitable, by justifying the jazz radio program as highly rated in Monore. It is possible that, people who listen to the radio do not really appreciate, but see it as a least abhorrent program at that time. Also, given that the program airs at 7 on every weekend, the population that have time to listen to radio is surely the biggest, while many other programs during the weekday may be even more appealing, but lack the audience to rate it as better than the jazz program. The prompt should provide more details of the survey, such as the questionnaire content, to elucidate how the high score that the program received comes from.

Lastly, it is not sufficient by uttering a nationwide study to implicate the spendings of Monore. It is apparent that consuming habits and financial status vary in every cities, For example, megacities such as New York, Los Angeles may have higher annual spending on jazz than other rural towns, due to the income average and their savings. The prompt should present the amount of spending that only constitutes Monore residents, and furthermore provide the number of jazz fans, to make this research more persuasive.

The argument may look cogent at first glance, howbeit more evidences should be provided, including the attendance of jazz clubs of Monore residents, radio survey details, and residential annual consumption on jazz. After the evidences provided, then the argument can be seen as congruent and robust.