According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The prompt narrates a circumstance, that a college had decreased cheating by implementing an honor code, and further argued that this is a facile and effective way for other schools to adopt. Although the example of Groveton College seems effective and persuasive, numerous questions should be answered in prior to the other academics to follow.

First, the validity of reported cases of cheating before, and after adopting the honor code is challenged. The argument should answer how to ensure the cases of cheating reported is actually all the cheating cases occurred. It is likely that, after the honor code had implemented, students tend to cooperate with each other to cheat with their classmates instead of reporting to faculty members, therefore decreased the reported cases. Also, unless solid evidences are on the table, the argument should provide ways to make sure how to prevent misreport from the students themselves. Unless all the cheating cases are all correctly reported, the number of cases is far from valid to compare.

Also, the argument should demonstrate how the survey is made. It is apparently that most of the students does not cheat whether the honor code is implemented, and that their response does not really help to strengthen the new policy. The survey should be projected to students that cheated before or potential cheaters, in order to gain real perspectives of the honor code, and furthermore evaluate the policy. Therefore, the survey is far from persuasive before the argument provide more details of it.

Last but not least, the argument should answer how would the policy in Groveton would be effective in other schools. Even though the questions above are thoroughly discussed, it does not guarantee that the same measurement can decrease cheating cases elsewhere. It is possible that, schools beside Groveton already have low cheating rates, and that implementing honor code is not as effective as it did in Groveton. The argument should provide evidences, such as a survey nationwide, to prove the honor code as an effective way.

The prompt sees honor code as a facile method to prevent cheating among students, by providing examples such as cheating cases difference, and a survey result done in the school. However, to better support the argument, it should answer questions above to further strengthen the idea of implementing the honor code as an effective way to prevent cheating.