According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In this argument, the author asserts that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes in order to reduce cheating among students. To support this conclusion, the author points out that the number of students who have cheated in the past five years has been reduced after the monitor system was changed to honor codes to reinforce this claim. The author also cites the poll to demonstrate that more students are less likely to cheat under the honor code than under the monitor system. However, this argument is weak for several reasons.

First, the argument is based on the presumption that students, like faculty, are capable of detecting cheating among their peers, and are also inclined to inform their teachers when they do. However, without evidence to substantiate these assumptions, one cannot reasonably conclude that the incidence of cheating has decreased as a result of the honor code.

The argument also assumes that during five years, the data may become more homogeneous, meaning that all other factors that affect the occurrence of cheating remain unchanged. Numerous confounding factors, including the number of enrolled students, and the quality of students, may have entirely possible influenced the student's motivation to cheat, lowering the prevalence of cheating.That is, the decrease in cheating is not only affected by the honor code but also prompted by other changing factors. Thus, without excluding other explanations for the decreasing incidence of cheating, this argument does not persuade us that the honor code, indeed, has an effect on the decreasing trend of cheating.

In addition, the author fails to ensure that the survey sample is representative of all college students, and the survey response relies on the student’s integrity and honesty response, which could make the results of the survey unreliable in both of these aspects. In this instance, the author would need to suggest more convincing evidence from the survey and reevaluate the recommendation regarding the honor code.

All told, the author should provide specifics on the student’s reasons for cheating. Moreover, the author should also consider other factors that might affect cheating behavior. That would strengthen this argument.