Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require all students to gain some working experience as part-time employees or interns before they can graduate.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The employment rate of college students is decreasing, leading the schools to take various actions to address it. Some institutions contend that making work experience a requirement for graduation is a practical method to boost the employment rate; however, others assert that it is not helpful to students. In short, I don’t think work experience and graduation requirements play a positive role.

The argument is based on the inaccurate premise that an internship could allow students to learn outside of the classroom and obtain essential professional experience. But requiring students to have work experience not only goes against the original intent, which called for students to be capable, competent, and erudite, but also has the opposite effect. For example, while some students who want to pursue academia might study for a language test and write a research proposal as a primary way to demonstrate their academic abilities during the summer and winter vacations, the internship wastes their time and negatively impacts the overall outcome of their application. Additionally, the company frequently requests interns and waste their time by having them perform absurd tasks. Therefore, working for a company during a break gives students useless experience but ignores the diversity among the students who have various professional aspirations, wasting time on pointless activities to meet graduation requirements.

The employment rate of college students can also be influenced by a wide range of other variables. Or, to put it another way, the original statement ignores the diversity of the students and concentrates only on upholding the rule requiring students to gain job experience before graduating. For instance, some students could be more motivated than others to pursue a career in academia. Therefore, despite having the internships at the company, they can still get nothing. Because there are few positions that can be determined by only one factor, work experience does not necessarily provide sufficient assurance for landing the job. Simply knowing more about the sectors can boost one’s innovative expertise, including college GPA, passion, and social skills, which may also be influencing college students’ chances of receiving a job offer. Therefore, it can be said that work experience is not the primary factors considered by employers when filling open positions. In these situations, following this rule will be challenging at best and unfair at worst.

When it comes to enforcement, work experience has two sides. On the plus side, internship-related expertise can be useful during job interviews. On the other hand, there is an impediment that prevents students from advancing their skills and pursuing their interests on a personal level over the winter and summer breaks. However, in practice, this approach not only misunderstands the fundamental idea of work experience but also proves to be challenging to put into practice. What should the school do, for instance, if the children exhibit a lack of compliance or outright defiance? Therefore, I contend that work experience is optional because it is mostly unrelated to the students’ career plans and because they have the option of choosing whether or not to participate in an internship.

All told, I believe the original statement about work experience has flaws. Thus, completing an internship while in school is not a requirement but rather a choice. Specifically, schools should implement systems that guarantee students will successfully possess the skills, knowledge, and competence to pursue their career futures, rather than requiring them to complete an internship.