Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Universities should require all students to gain some working experience as part-time employees or interns before they can graduate. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The employment rate of college students is decreasing, leading the schools to take various actions to address it. Some universities contend that work experience as a graduation requirement is a feasible way to increase the employment rate; others believe that it is useless for the students. In short, I have a negative view of the work experience and role of graduation requirements.

The argument is based on an inaccurate assumption that the internship could learn the knowledge outside the school and obtain valuable experience in working for an enterprise. However, requiring students to obtain work experience not only defies the original purpose that requires students to have the ability with competence and erudite but also takes a reverse result. For instance, part of some students who want to pursue their career future in the academic field may prepare for a language exam and write a research proposal-a primary means of showing their academic skills, in the summer and winter vacation, the internship will waste their time and affect their application outcome as a whole. Furthermore, the enterprise usually asks for interns and wastes their time doing some insane work. As a consequence, working for the business during the vacation brings students invaluable experience, but ignoring the heterogeneity among the students who have diverse career plans, spending the time on irrelevant things to attain the graduation requirement.

There are many other factors that can make an impact on the employment rate of college students as well. Or rather, the original statement ignores the heterogeneity among the students and focuses solely on ruling the requirement for students to have work experience before they can graduate. For example, some students could have more incentive to pursue an academic career than others. Therefore, they may still get nothing despite internships in the enterprise. Moreover, work experience does not provide a sufficient guarantee for obtaining the job position, simply knowing increases innovative knowledge about the industries, because there are few positions that can be determined by a single factor. To illustrate, the factors considered by the enterprises, such as college GPA, motivation, and social skills, could also be determining the fate of college students for the job offer. Hence, it can be stated that work experience is not the main determinant for the companies to make a job decision. In such cases, the enforcement of this policy will be difficult at best and unfair at worst.

Work experience is a double-edged sword when it comes to enforcement. On one side, the knowledge gained by taking an internship is beneficial in the job interview process. On the other side is an impediment for students to enhance their abilities and develop their interests individually during the winter and summer vacation. Still, at a practical level, however, this policy not only fails to understand the core concept of the work experience but is difficult to implement in the real world. In enforcement, for instance, what should the school do if the students have an attitude of less obedience or even defiance? Hence, work experience, I argue, is thus optional, because it is primarily dissimilar to the career plan among the students and the students have a choice to decide to have an internship or not.

All told, work experience, in my view, has apparent deficiencies in the original statement. That is, taking an internship in school life is not an integral but an optional measure; precisely, instead of requiring students to have an internship, the schools should set up a system that ensures students will successfully have the skills, knowledge, and competence to pursue their career future.