People’s attitudes are determined more by their immediate sitution or surrondings than by society as a whole.

The statement weighing immediate situation or surrounding over society plays a critical role in an individual experience in their entire life. Surely, there are plenty of immediate situations that affect and personalize our attitudes in the past decades. However, our understanding of a typical day reveals how society has shaped our attitude in impalpable ways. During the workday, the probabilities of using social networks and listening to pop music are high that the people will interact with the context that could make an impact on themselves, such as behavior, language, and values. Each occurrence could have been highly influential on one’s attitudes.

The original statement seeks to link the immediate situation or surroundings to growth, rather than society, in the formation of personal attitudes. The assumption is that unexpected situations would heavily change the values of people by prompting them to adapt to the new environment and social rules. Depending on this premise, making more significant effects on personal attitudes is sudden situation or surroundings, either externally, by accidental transformations of the opportunity to one’s life, or internally, by the increasing of mental growth and subsequent changes of behavior. For instance, a traffic accident that happened to a person may change his mind on social issues, becoming more aggressive to persuade lawmakers to enact traffic laws strictly.

However, recent scholarship has strongly suggested that those aspects of the formation of one’s attitudes, such as surroundings and immediate situation, did not make contributions to personal attitudes as a whole, but were largely surpassed by the influence of society. According to the experiment conducted by Oxford University, participants respond to questions by using a scale of 1 to 5, indicating the degree to which they agreed or disagreed with questions concerning their beliefs about personal attitudes. Eighty-one percent of all respondents agreed that they felt society was the main factor to affect their attitudes; and the respondents with more experience on social platforms tended to report positive beliefs about social networks and less seem immediate actions as important, compared with their less-social platform users.

Computer connectivity, in fact, helps people affected by society further. Social networks— Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram—have immense potential to influence the attitudes of people and to increase the probability of learning about fashioned cultures. Individual users share information on social platforms that other members can see it. Also, they upload the article and write about what they thought and how to figure it out, which, in turn, encourages other people to rethink and to make an effect on them. In addition, increasing technology and social platforms surge to a high level, leading people to read the article or to communicate with other users, exchanging their thoughts with each other. It also offers more opportunities for people to tangible with the emergence of new conceptions. Immediate accidents no doubt play a role in the formation of human attitudes, but its effect has been less than doubled now compared to years ago. Society, however, actually provides a learning source for human attitude.

Society will always shape people’s attitudes in their whole life, from behavior to value. The original statement is not fully supported by the general perception of how other factors— social network, has affected and shaped people’s attitude. All told, consequently, so profound is a society that we point out a different understanding of the formation of human attitudes than the original statement offered.