A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

Whether all schools should follow the same curriculum is one of the most important issues in Taiwan in recent days. The common curriculum, which is an educational policy, has required all schools to use the same material at the same grade level to alleviate students' pressure over the past three years. This policy also tries to help teachers with their work, thereby leading many educators to support it. For example, a statement urging the Taiwan government to pass this policy was released this month from the teacher union of the senior high school. The common curriculum is now prevalent in the educational field that comes from schools, but a change in the related policy that permits them is under consideration. Although many teachers and politicians agree with these arguments, this requirement may be unnecessary and could have a great social impact in the future.

People in favor of implementing the same material claim that the education system will improve with this change. This argument is based on the assumption that if stressed-out students are forced to study the same curriculum, they will not have to do as much work in their classes and can instead do everything whenever they want to. However, there is a lack of evidence to support this claim. In practice, this effort does not depend on the circumstances in which students live to consider real obstacles to their study. Both social and economic factors have the potential to unexpectedly increase students' workload, upending the regular pattern for students to study the textbook. For instance, the teaching abilities of the teacher are crucial to the learning process of the students. If there is a lack of teachers in rural areas, students will not benefit from the policy that requires schools to use the same material. Although some people may argue that this problem can be solved in other ways, the government should be cautious in its policy-making until a solution appears. It is clear that this requirement is not conclusive but oversimplified.

In addition, it is also mentioned that the same curriculum policy ensures fair competition in the country. Some supporters said that the same curriculum helps students who come from rural areas and eliminates the educational inequality among city and county children. However, this claim is not conclusive because the same curriculum is not a solution for these students in the real world; in contrast, this policy has not had either a positive or negative effect after some countries implemented it. The new experimental study also shows that there is no significant difference in academic performance between students who use the same curriculum and those who do not, implying that the same curriculum may have a limited effect on reducing inequality. On the other hand, this policy may enlarge the gap in students' performance between city' and county' students after the government announces the same curriculum will be adopted in the future, thereby increasing the inequality for students because the parents from the city will send their kids to cram school to learn supplementary materials. For instance, both Japan and South Korea have adopted the same curriculum; nevertheless, the inequality between city and county is growing because many countries are so remote that any students who come from there have no chance of going to cram school to study supplementary materials. Despite the claim that the same curriculum could improve the social equality of education, experts and officials need to provide as much evidence as they can.

The final argument that people often support for using the same curriculum is that this policy can improve students' performance. However, using the same curriculum is the most ineffective way to educate students, which even procures a negative impact on their test scores. Since the learning process of students could have been impacted by other factors, such as the degree of difficulty of the course material, cohort competition, and the teaching skill of the teacher. Even if the government implements this policy nationwide for this reason, the children will still have poor scores in school. It is obvious that this argument is not reasonable.

It should be evident that there are no good reasons for Taiwan to use the same curriculum. On the contrary, this policy procures negative results either in the school or educational system. Moreover, teachers may have more work to do in planning the course following a national standard. If the Taiwan government passes this bill, both students and teachers will experience more pressure in schools. Finally, although having many versions of textbooks at the same grade level is a huge problem, issuing this requirement is a futile measure in the real world. All things considered, I think that there is no need for the government to tightly force the schools to adhere to this policy.