A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

It is said that it would be better for a nation to offer the same curriculum to all students in various parts until they are prepared to go college. I believe that this subject depends on the educational system of each nation and it is impossible to say exactly whether this type of program works to all countries or not.

Each country or nation may have its own special schooling system. For example, according to my knowledge, it is common for all European schools to have the same curriculum for all students until they are accepted to go college, then teenagers are allowed to choose their favorite field based on what they are interested in. However, in my country, students have the same educational program before going to high school. In this condition, they have to take an exam and are assessed in order school officials to understand each person is suitable for which type of major or educational path and then students are taught different things based on the field chosen for them.

A national core curriculum would be beneficial to a nation in a number of respects. Firstly, by providing all children with fundamental skills and knowledge, a common core curriculum would help our children to grow up to become reasonably informed and productive members of society.

Secondly, such a program would provide a predictable foundation upon which college administrators and faculty can more easily build curricula and select course materials for freshmen that are neither below nor above their level of educational experience.

Additionally, this type of program would ensure that all school children are taught core values, which each democratic society needs to thrive and survive, values such as tolerance of others with different viewpoints and having respect for others.

However, a common core curriculum that is also a widespread one would pose certain problems, which might outweigh the benefits mentioned above. First of all, on what basis would certain coursework be included or excluded, and who would be the final decision maker? It is more likely these decisions would be in the hands of federal legislators and regulators, who are likely to have their own quirky notions of what should or should not be taught to children. Ideas that may or may not reflect those of most communities, schools and parents. Besides, government officials are notoriously susceptible to be influenced by pressure groups who usually do not consider the best interests of society ‘s children.

The existence of the similar curriculum can help some officials decide to eliminate or limit certain texts, books, programs and websites which provide information and perspectives that the government might wish to suppress because they might be a threat to its authority and power.

The inflexible nature of a uniform national curriculum would preclude the inclusion of programs, courses and materials that are local or regional in nature. For example, in some cities in my country children need to know about particular ethnic groups who make up a part of population on their cities. A national curriculum might not allow for this feature, as a result, youngsters may ignore to learn about their tradition and native culture. Also, such program cannot satisfy all children with different levels of intelligence and ability. This means that a special program can be suitable for someone but at the same time can be very banal or difficult to another. This situation may force some parents to consider other extra schooling programs which may put children under pressure of stress and make the disillusioned to study.

On conclusion, in my view, different factors should be considered when officials want to choose the type of curriculum in schools and I believe that national core curriculum cannot be good for all cities and even children.