A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets

Bicycle safety is one of the most critical issues in the traffic area. This article asserts that the dramatic increase in helmet use has made bicyclists who wear helmets feel safer; hence, the number of bicycle accidents has surged 200 percent in the past ten years. The author also seems to believe that educating people about bicycle safety will be able to decrease the number of injuries from bicycle accidents and increase public awareness of bicycle safety. This conclusion, however, assumes not only that wearing a helmet increased bicycle-related injuries in traffic accidents but also that the findings of a national study could be replicated in other states. Before this policy is implemented, the original statement needs to answer three questions that will help them determine whether this policy is likely to have the predicted result: survey information, confounding factors in bicycle accidents, and the causal relationship between safety classes and the bicycle's injury rate.

Requiring bicyclists to spend time learning bicycle safety is a way of decreasing the number of injuries that these people suffer. However, this argument is based on the assumption that because traffic safety courses will cut down the injury rate of traffic accidents, bicyclists must attend these lessons. Lack of safety awareness is scarcely the only problem confronting bicyclists. Bicyclists, for example, have been hit hard not only due to a lack of safety awareness but also because other vehicles, such as cars, may not have followed traffic laws on the road. Moreover, there are plenty of factors that could harm the bicyclists in unexpected ways, either through severe weather or poor road conditions. Hence, the claim that the traffic safety courses actually work to reduce the injury rate must be more clearly examined.

The statement also claims that a survey provides quantitative data about injury rates and the use of helmets. However, this claim does not provide sufficient information about the survey; this survey data was not given to residents nationwide as well. Sample representation is one of the most important factors in a national survey, especially the sample size, length, and content of the survey. Without this kind of information, the validity of the survey is called into question. A small sample size is not generalizable to other populations, so if evidence demonstrates that the sample size is small, the argument may be weakened. In contrast, the argument could be strengthened if the sample were large, including a representative sample of all residents nationwide. With regard to length, of this survey only included two or three questions, that would not provide sufficient information to draw strong conclusions. In that scenario, the survey would not provide a complete picture of how the increased use of helmets causes an increase in the number of serious injuries in bicycle accidents.

In addition, this claim posits the growing number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents because of the increase in helmet use. However, there are several alternative explanations for this relationship, particularly when it comes to traffic accidents, an occurrence that is invariably complex. Supposing the government has not implemented roadwork, other changes in road conditions will result in changes in injury numbers from bicycles, thereby causing many bicyclists to take more risks on the road and get injured. Furthermore, a number of other things may have affected traffic safety for bicyclists, including the weather, the change in traffic laws, and so on. These conditions may have had similar results in terms of the number of bicycle accidents, which would disturb a causal relationship between the increase in helmet use and the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents. Although a ten-year nationwide study used quantitative evidence to support their claim, the government still needs to include other variables to make this argument more conclusive.

In conclusion, there are many questions the government needs to answer before implementing this traffic policy. The author fails to provide solid evidence that there is a causal link between the two variables of less helmet use and the number of bicycle-related traffic injuries. Also, the original statement needs to identify whether the outcome of a national survey will be replicated in other states. Before final decisions are made about whether the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging bicyclists to wear helmets, much work is left for the arguer to do to make this argument more cogent and logical.