“Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Politics, defined by precedent, preeminent scholars, is an art of distributing public resources, and that government is the one who brings out the magic. Government officials often encounter dilemmas: whether to make their own decision or listen to the crowd. Execute their policies by their own will may boost bureaucracy efficiency, but may face public pressure on the other hand. For me, I tend to propose that they should thoroughly carry out people’s will when making policies.

It is no doubt that in history, administrations rely on their own judgements had proven its benefits. In the 80s of Osaka, Japan, people were enjoying the economic boost after the World War II, and that all they cared about is making money but others. As a consequence, the streets were a totally mess: garbage could been seen everywhere, shops putting out banners in every styles, sizes, colors and positions, which really sabotaged the street view. To tackle this, the government passed a law by increasing fines for littering, and regulating how shops and other commercials should place, and even how to design their banners. Of course, the law irritated the citizens, claiming that this policy intruded their freedom. However, after few years, people found out that this actually makes the streets look more tidy and beautiful, and that the law was eventually supported from people. Today, tourists awed to the clean and fine street views of Japan, and that governments rely on their judgements do has its advantages.

Nevertheless, the example above is just one of the very few, success examples, while most of them in history turned into failures, with some of them almost tore the whole country down. As we know, most of the administrations are elected by the people, and that what they present is actually the will from the audience, therefore disobeying the people’s will is fundamentally a democratic error. In addition, many nations who made judgements themselves eventually become dictators: Taiwan (Republic of China) and South Korea were some of the vivid examples. In the 50s, they both faced civil rivals, which were People’s Republic of China and North Korea respectively. To boost up fundamental constructions and prevent invasions from their rivals, they banned the public to express disagreements. Although it did secure the nation’s security and executed policies with efficient bureaucracies, the leaders all became dictators and eventually posed democratic threats to the public. Nowadays, the governments have altered their stances and follow the voices of their people, and that citizens do not have to worry that their voices are not being heard.

It is not an easy to determine whether government officials should rely on their own judgement or carry out the people’s wills. Although executing policies with their own will may increase efficiency, I see democracy as an inpenetrable value. They should follow people’s wills in order to prevent unauthorized, growing power.