The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should, therefore, allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo addresses the issue of fewer audiences but better reviews of the movie, and concluded that more advertising budget is needed next year. Although the prompt seems to be cogent to persuade people by providing statistics, there are still some questions that should be replied to make the statement logical.

First, how are the questions asked to audiences in the survey? It has been proved that the way of surveying may affect the respondents' answer. For instance, the company may start from asking the worst movie they had watched before, and encouraging them to share the watching experience and the plot. By first arousing their unpleasent movie experiences, people may tend to think that movies produced by Super Screen are somewhat satisfied, and therefore a biased report can be made, even though most of the respondents actually disliked the movies. The prompt should answer how the questions were asked to ensure the validity of the survey.

Also, the prompt should answer the details of how the respondents were chosen. It is likely that most of them were people who liked the movies from the company, while others who disliked or seldom watches the company's work may refuse to reply or were even not reachable of the survey. In this way, the portion of negative review is surely to decrease, and giving a superficially positive review. In contrast, a fair audience review should be done by phone interviews or randomly imparted survey, to grant the neutrality of the feedback opinions.

Last but not least, how is the company going to advertise? It is important to make sure that their promotion of their movies really has its effect. The memo should tell clearly how are they going to advertise, such as doing it through newspaper, radio stations, TV, Internet, etc. Perhaps they decided to spend their budget all on radio advertisements, but the potential audiences do not listen to radio, but instead surfing the web commonly, therefore making the ad unfavorable to do the trick. It is imperative to check that the solution raised really has its efffect to make the conclusion drawn in the argument potent.

The prompt looks persuasive at first, but few questions need to be futher answered, such as the reviewer source, the question content, and the feasibility of their solution. Therefore, the argument could then be proved effective to do.