Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Reputation, a trait that most humans do live on but unaware of, is often protected carefully by covering the risky demeanors of themselves. It is bombarded into pieces however, once a scandal is being discovered. People may argue that what role do scandals play besides a topic in chats, while I regard it as examples for us to investigate and discuss relevant problems.

Scandals exist in miscellaneous aspects, from bribery of presidents to a husband cheating on a wife, but what they present in common are real, genuine scenarios for us to think deeper. Few years ago, a food company was reported selling oil that actually originated from food waste, and furthermore sold to an abundant of downstream companies and restaurants followed by multiple purifying processes, in order to increase its profits. Besides discussing how evil the CEO of the company is, we can overlook the responsibility of an enterprise, and its influences to the public among pursuing its perculinary goals. It aroused people’s attention to social responsibility and honesty, also to be alert and suspicious, which had been transcribed in textbooks but never being underlined. The example is a imperative rationale to assess the usefulness of scandals.

Some may argue that, most of the scandals are not irrelevant to ourselves, such as the relationships between celebrities, and that paying attention to those information does not strike a positive impact to the society. However, I interpret this as a mistaken perspective toward scandals. The essential of scandal itself is an opportunity to revise our attitude towards living, and the fundamental basis of interactions with others. For instance, we often heard two married pop stars getting divorced after a short marriage. Besides guessing what is the cause of the breakup and the future lawsuits, we can focus on topics like what comprises marriage, or what is the essential of a relationship. It is a great source for us to question ourselves, get a more elucidated answer and furthermore avoid trapping into the same situations.

Scandals are somewhat trepidations for most humans, and others may even despise scandal itself as an irrelevant product under society. Nevertheless, I accolade it to be useful to focus ourselves into problems. It is the best reminder for everyone to inspect themselves, and a potent discourse that speakers or reformers could not address.