“The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership is by means the ability to integrate the power, and gathering opinions of the crowd. It is a crucial skill and virtue in the 21st century. Some may argue that cultivating leadership should be done by cooperation and not competition, while I assume that contesting is an essence of building leadership.

Many would insist that competition would discourage people who are inferior in certain realms, and make those who won being condescending figures, but not those who can actually lead the crowd. Take the example of elementary school students, which most of them may compare their grades, and sometimes students who get good scores may flout at others. Indeed, this phenomenon is not a good sprout for establishing a future leader. On the contrary, an ideal cooperation between people may galvanize them to find each of their strengths and weaknesses, and therefore by naturally generating a figure who is good at assigning jobs to others which the task suits their ability. Furthermore, he can make giant leaps by leading the crowd, and the society may improve continuously as a whole.

However, competition is a much more realistic and efficient methodology to have the same effect as cooperation, and foster leadership of young people. During competition, participants may put away all their strength to win, and that it is more clear to find their individual abilities. In contrast, cooperation may sometimes face the so-called "public indolence". For instance, in the 1950s, the People's Republic of China tried to execute Communism, so they implemented policies to avoid policies of competition, and encouraged people to work together. Such measurements include farming the same crops, and eating the same food at the same place. As a ramification, the society actually stalled to improve and faced hunger, and no new generation is able to stand out a lead the country for a better way. On the contrary, Japan was just recovering from WW2, and during the time multiple parties were competing by addressing the national policies they want, and persuading the public to vote for them. The result is obvious, that many famous and young politicians were fostered, and Japan went a huge rise in economics and became a strong nation.

The way to prepare leadership is under dispute. While some may insist on fostering by cooperation, I disagree with this statement and think that competition is a better method. In this way not only we can discover strengths more eaily, but also galvanizing youth to learn the importance of leadership.