The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

“Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt made a statement of altering the pest control company, by introducing the statistics of their property loss. Nevertheless, to make the argument potent enough to persuade readers, more evidence is required to strengthen the rationale.

First, they compared two companies at different places. It is obvious that different locations may have various tendency towards pest problems. For instance, nations near equator like Indonesia are full with bugs, people living in there even created lots of delicacy related to bugs; while it would be rare to find any insect under the cold, icy Greenland soil, due to the harsh weather for them to survive. Other factors like humidity or sunshine duration also affects the difficulty for pests to survive and furthermore problems to eradicate them. The memo should provide the weather conditions, and provide statistics concerning the issue of pest control for both locations to evaluate the efficiency for the service from each company.

Next, the prompt should provide the items stocked and destroyed. It is possible that the food stored in different places have different value. For instance, the storage in Palm City consists of branded chocolates and cheese, while in Wintervale most of them are flour and rice, which has much lower value than the other. Also, pest may have different tendency to different foods, which has a direct impact to the difficulty for pest control. Therefore, differentiating the capability of pest control companies by the financial loss is unreasonable; the vice president should provide the detailed stock information to make such assumption.

Last but not least, the company should show the cost by each company. Although the cost is said to be “considerably lower”, the actual price is still uncertain. If the price gap between companies exceeded 10000, the difference of worth of good lost last month, than it would be actually better to remain cooperation with Fly-Away. Also, different places may have uneven consuming price index, such as California and rural states like Nebraska. Therefore the prompt should also take into consideration due to the different pricing standards, to make sure the pricing in different places and companies are compared indifferently.

The argument seems to be persuasive at first by providing statistics. However, before making an emphatic conclusion, evidences stated above is required to be presented to furthermore to convince readers to accept such decision.