The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of food distribution company comes to the conclusion that their company should switch the contract of pest control services from Fly-Away Pest Control Company to Buzzoff Pest Control Company. The author comes to this conclusion by comparing the amount of damages caused by pests in warehouses present in Palm City and Wintervale. Before we assess the validity of this argument, the author should provide evidence against the three assumptions stated below.

Firstly, the author assumes that the damages caused in Palm City warehouse were not because of an anomaly. There could be multiple reasons which escalated the damages. Maybe, the weather of the Palm city facilitated the growth of pest in the warehouse. It is also possible that the refrigeration at the warehouse was malfunctioning for a period of time, which led to the increase in infestation of the pest in the warehouse. if either of the above possibilities holds true then author's contention fail to hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that there is no differentiating factor between warehouses in Palm City and Wintervale. Perhaps, the size of the former warehouse is vast in comparison to the latter, which justifies the amount of damages observed at each warehouse. It is also possible that the former warehouse is situated near a forest area which intensifies the amount of pest infiltration in the warehouse in comparison the latter. The author's assumption is likely to suffer in either of the aforementioned cases.

Lastly, the author assumes that it is cost effective strategy to switch contract from Fly-Away to Buzzoff. However, it is probable that in the long run the cost of pest control service outrun the cost of food that is damaged. It may also be possible that Buzzoff company may charged extra for providing service in Palm City, as their nearest center is far away from the city. The author's premise is severely undermined in either case.

In conclusion, the recommendation from vice president may be correct. However, as it stands now, three presumptions undermine the validity of the result. To make their case more compelling, the author must back up the aforementioned premises with proof.