The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning f

With the advent of technologies in the last two centuries, human life and society has taken a drastic change in the matter of luxuries and conveniences. Just like each coin has two faces, these facilities also have their own merits and demerits. The prompt claims that these facilities do not let people become strong, independent individuals. Well, I mostly agree with the above argument for two main reasons, which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that one cannot overlook the benefits of these luxuries and conveniences.

To begin, the technology has become so commonplace that human life has become heavily dependent on it. All generations of people, from children in school to adults in offices, are in some manner hooked to the machine all day long. Social media has become an intricate part of life. In the last few years, ever since the pandemic started, the entire population has been heavily dependent on mobile phones, computers, and television. This has created a lot of negative effects on people, such as sleep deprivation, anxiety, etc. As much as the phones have connected people over the world in these tough times, it has also reduced the connection with ones family. Thus, it is fair to conclude that although these conveniences of technology have brought the world closer, they also have negative effects on people's lives.

Secondly, people are being negatively influenced and affected by the luxuries of technology. Studies show that there is an increase in the number of people battling heart diseases, obesity, diabetes, etc. All of the above diseases are the result of the contemporary lifestyle, which has made people lazy and rely on technology. Teenagers, who should be invested in studies and sports, are wasting their precious time on ludicrist things like social media. Ample studies highlight the negative effects social media has on people's lives. Thus, one can say that the luxuries of contemporary life are preventing people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Lastly, however, one cannot overlook the merits these technologies has provided. It depends on the individual's will to take advantage of this beneficial side of the technology. The entire knowlegde of the human summed is available on palm of the hands. The distances between the places have "reduced" with the availability of affordable and convenient transportation. Hence, we can say that these luxuries and conveniences have a beneficial side as well.

In conclusion, we can say that although the luxuries and convienences have a deletorius affect on many individuals, it high depends on the individual to turn this affect around to ones benefit.