Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take

Human activities have had a major influence on the extinction of many species. Activities like hunting, deforestation for building homes, highways, industries, etc. have caused many species to become endangered or even extinct. The prompt claims that society should only be concerned in saving species that have become endangered because of human activities. I mostly disagree with this argument for two main reasons, which I will elucidate below. However, as it stands today, protecting this endangered species comes at a cost.

To begin, it cannot be stated with certainty that humans have absolutely no role in making the species extinct. Humans’ activities severely affect the environment, thus indirectly affecting the natural habitals of these species. Water contamination, climate change, air pollution have significant contribution in destroying the ecology and thus indirectly affecting this species. Many species are significantly reduced in number, and when such species face natural calamities, it becomes difficult for them to recover from them. Extinction of even one species from the food chain due to human activity can severely damage the food chain. Thus, even indirectly, humans have influenced the extinction and endangerment of the species.

Secondly, humans considered themselves to be the smartest and most intellectual of all the other species. This make the human morally responsible for protecting the mother nature and as well as the animals surving in it. Humans’ activities have resulted in the extinction of many species in the past. Many animals are hunted to this date to obtain certain elements from them, and many of them are killed just for display purposes. For example, elephants are hunted for their husks, and rhinos are hunted for their horns. Therefore, it is the responsibility of humans to protect such species. In some way or another, each animal has played some role in maintaining the ecology. Thus, it is to the mutual benefit of humans to protect other species as well. Also turning a blind eye for other species raises a question on the human moral. Hence, humans should take efforts in protecting all the species.

However, protecting these species comes with a cost that human societies need to bear together. These endangered species need special attention, like protection from natural calamities and other predators. Building establishment for these species involves cost to the government. However, such costs can be mitigated with appropriate strategies. Like building zoo and wild santuary attracts tourists. Countries like China have created a monopoly on pandas across the world. Even if this is a debatable argument, one cannot disagree that this has prevented pandas from going extinct.

In conclusion, as a part of this one nature, it is the responsibility of humans to show care for all the species. As this species have helped in some manner maintaining the homeostatis in nature that humans benefit from the most.