Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Human activities have major influence on the extinction the many species. Activities like hunting, deforestration for building homes, highways, industries, etc. have caused many species to become endangered or even extinct. The prompt claims that society should only be concerned in saving the species that have became endangered because of human activities. I mostly disagree with this argument for two main reasons, which i will elucidate below. However, as it stands today, protecting this endangered species comes bearing a cost.

To begin, it cannot be stated with certainty that humans have absolutely no role in making the species extinct. Humans activities severely affect the environment and thus indirectly affecting the natural habital of these species. Water contamination, climate change, air pollution have significant contribution in destroying the ecology and thus indirectly affecting this species. Many species are significantly reduced in number and when such species faces natural clamities, it becomes difficult for them to recover from it. Extinction of even one species from the food chain that was due to human activity can severely damage the food chain. Thus, even indirectly humans have influence on the extinction and endangering of the species.

Secondly, humans considered themself to be the smartest and intellectual of all the other species. This make the human morally responsible for protecting the mother nature and as well as the animals surving in it. Humans activities have resulted in the extinction of many species in the past. Many animals are hunted till this date to obtain certain elements from them and many of which are killed just for display purpose. Like for examples, elephants are hunted for the husk and rhinos are hunted for their horns. Therefore, it is the responsibility the humans to protect such species. . In some way the other each animal have played some role in maintaining the ecology. Thus it is in mutual benefit of the humans to protect other species as well. Also turning a blind eye for other species raises a question on the human moral. Hence, humans should take efforts in protecting all the species.

However, protecting these species comes with a cost which the human societies need to bear together. These endangered species needs special attention like protection for natural clamities and other predators. Building establishment for these species involves cost to the government. However, such cost can be mitigated with appropriate strategies. Like building zoo and wild santuary attracts tourists. Country like China have created a monopoly on pandas across the world. Even if this is an debatable argument, one cannot disagree that this has prevented pandas from going extinct.

In conclusion, as a part of this one nature it is responsiblity of the humans show care for all the species. As this species have helped in some manner maintaining the homeostatis in nature that humans benefit from the most.