The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the city should use the declining residential lands for industrial use to revitalize the city of Transopolis. The author comes to this conclusion based on results of the similar program, which was put into action ten years ago. Before we assess the validity of this argument, the author should provide evidence against the three assumptions stated below.

Firstly, the author assumes that decrease in crime rates and increase in property tax revenues are result of the comprehensive urban renewal program undertaken by the city of Transopolis. There can be multiple reasons which mitigated the crime rates in the city. Maybe, the city of Transopolis initiated an affordable educational programs for the children, who lacked even basic education and resorted to robbery for their daily bread. It is also possible that the increase in property tax revenue was a result of the new community center established in the heart of the city. If either of the above possibilities hold true then the author's contentions fails to hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that trend observed near the freeway reflects a general trend which will be observe in rest of the neighborhoods. Perhaps the area near the freeway is well connected to other major city, and thus, the industrialization of that area had more positive affects than the other areas of the city. It can also be possible that the area near the freeway have more industrial favorable facilities like plenty of water and electricity supply, etc. and which is not to be case in other areas of the city. The author's assumption is likely to suffer in either of the aforementioned cases.

Lastly, the author assumes that people living in the residential area on the other side of the city are likely to agree to move in other neighborhoods. However, it is probable that the residents of that area have mental attachment to their place because a long generation of their family resided there. It may also be possible that the houses available in the nearby neighborhoods are not considered to meet the standards of the people living in the residential area where the program is to be initialized. The author's premise is severely undermined in either case.

In conclusion, the recommendation from the planning department of the city may be correct. However, as it stands now, three presumption undermines the validity of the result. To make their case more compelling, the author must back up the aforementioned premises with proof.