Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The prompts claims that the scientists and other researcher should pay more attention to exploring the fields which are more likely to benefit the human race. I mostly agree with the position for two main reasons, which I will elucidate below. However, I do believe the purpose of science is to understand the unknown and sometimes the pursue to understand these unknown factors can led to significant discoveries.

To begin, in the last few decades scientific studies are in front row, leading the development of the human societies. Hence, it is beneficial for humans if scientist and researchers based their studies in the fields which can potentially prosper our societies. For eg. the energy crisis which we were supposed to face today due to the shortage of fuel supply was severely mitigated with the development of nuclear power. Devices to harness the solar and wind energy also majorly help to overcome these problems today. Thus, we understand the requirement of further studies in this sector. In addition to this, the rich studies in the medical field had help significantly to fight against the major pandemics of the centuries like the covid-19, polio and swine flu. These factors provides us with ample of evidence of how important the research in such fields were for the human societies.

Secondly, the purpose of exploring fields which do not benefit the society is debatable and questionable. Scientist and researchers are generally consider to be among the few most highly intellectual individuals. It is very difficult to imagine a world without the internet. What if the people who invented and advanced the various component of the internet dedicated their work on something else? What is Benjamin Franklin was invested in the field of geology. What if Edison gave up on the light bulb experiment after failing for the hundredth time. All the above factors bolster the claim that researcher should work in the fields which have the potential to alleviate the society at large.

Lastly, I do concede that many a times the studies of unknown scientific principals can led to fortuitous discoveries. The potential benefits of such discoveries outweighs the possible failure in these studies. Many useful inventions and discoveries were infact a result of the ventures in the unknown. The inventions which do not seem to benefit the society today, might possibly change the world tomorrow. Such is experiment of inhabiting the Mars. Though highly debatable topic today, it do have the potential to send human race not just to the lonely red planet but can even further accelerate the possibility to go far and beyond what we think is impossible today. Thus, it is fair to conclude that it somewhat acceptable for scientist to keep the motive to benefit society aside and work in a field which do not have known benefit.