Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author concludes that the main reason for extinction of mammal's species on Kaliko Islands is because of unregulated hunting done by humans. The author comes to this contention by citing various archaeological findings which pointed that humans relied on mammals as their food source. Before, we assess the validity of this argument, the author needs to provide additional evidence against the three unwarranted assumptions stated below.

Firstly, the author assumes that the are no other factors valid than human hunting which resulted in the extinction of mammals. However, there can be multiple reason which brought about this extinction. Perhaps, the habitat of these mammals was largely affected when a new predator started hunting the same animal species as the mammals and which led to the scarcity of food for these mammals. It is also possible, that a volcanic eruption or a meteorite significantly impacted the numbers of animals living on the Kaliko Islands, increasing the competition for limited food resource available for mammals. If either of the above scenarios holds, then the author's contentions fail to hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that the extinction of these mammals was due to the overhunting for food. But, it is also likable the humans hunted these mammals for other purposes than food. Maybe, the humans used the mammals skin to quill clothes to survive the harsh winters on the islands. Or perhaps, humans used these mammals parts as cultural or spiritual ritual. It is also possible that humans hunted mammals to trade their parts among each other. Either of the above cases is likely to hinder the credibility of the author's assumption.

Lastly, the author assumes that the presence of hunting tools at the archaeological sites justifies that human over hunted these mammals. However, it is possible that these stones knives were use largely for hunting small animal and were hardly effective against a large mammal. Also, even if we consider that these tools helped in hunting the mammals, it cannot be justified whether they were used to hunt the mammals or just used as self-protection against the invasion of these mammals in the human territory. If these tools were merely used in self protection, it is likable that mammals were not hunted regularly. In either scenario, the author's assumption is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the author might be right that human's excessive hunting caused these mammals to go extinct. However, as it stands now the conclusion stands on three assumptions that hinder its validity. The author needs to provide evidence for above mentioned assumptions to increase the persuasiveness of their argument