Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt suggests that the extinction of mammals in the Kaliko Island could not have been due to Human intervention, but due to the climate change or other environmental factor must have caused it. As archeaologist have found numerous sites with fish bones and no mammals bones. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated some questions must be answered.

Firstly, the author provied us with the information that humans arrived in Kaliko Island about 7000 years ago. Here, neither the clear time is not provided nor any data to support the claim has been provided in the prompt. Moreover, author says that within the 3000 years of the arrival of human mammals began to extinct; however, we do not know if the information of human arrival was valid itself. So, based on that it is hard to believe that the extinction had nothing to do with humans. As, it could be that the proper exploration of the island is yet to be done, which later might prove that humans were there before 7000 years ago and promoted the extinction of mammals.

Secondly, author says that human had no significant contact with mammals as the significant evidence of contact with the mammals have not been discovered. However, the prompt fails to provie us with the infromation such as, the percentage of island that has been exploerd, methods and tools used in finding evidence and criteria that has been selected to find evidence and validate the research outcome that humans had no contact with the mammals. Also

Lastly, the author claims that although numerous sites have been discovered with the discarded bones of fish no other sites with the bones of mammals have been found. However, it is not taken in account that the bones of mammal could have been use in other things like tool for offence. Moreover, author has not taken in account that the bones are made up of elements like phosphorous that has property to ignite and burn in contact with air so it is highly likely that the bones may have perish.

In conclusion, the prompt as it is has many flaes in it due to its reliance on the unwarranted assumptions. So, to properly evaluate the prompts' validity author must provide us with the additional informatio and answer aforementioned questions.