The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the recommendation from the committee planning of Calatrav city, it is stated that they should fund the city facility and programs used primarily by adults. The committee came to the conclusion based on the fact that the birth rate in the city is decreasing. However, before this recommendation some questions should be answered.

Firstly, the birth-rate of last year is taken as a reference, whereas they do not know if the birth-rate at present is decreasing or not. Also, even if, the birth-rate may be decreasing but population can still increase by migration. The native might be contributing in ebbing birth rate but the migrants can surely soar the infant population. Also the population is always dynamic in nature. birth-rate could increase starting next year. So, the assumption that birth-rate that was low last year will further decrease should be supported by the warranted statics and data.

Secondly, it is vague to assume that the student enrolled in the public schools will decrease as the students can migrate from different location. Also, idea of reducing budget for a decayed for education is denounceable as education will make the strong foundation for the students of Calatrava. Moreover, if population starts to increase and birth rate aggrandise then the education system in Calatrava will collapse.

Lastly, reducing the budget of athletic playing field and recreational activity is inappropriate as not just the students but people of any age could relish these facilities. Also, there concern fo adult population is unjustified in the recommendation. Adults at present will surely start their family and will contribute to the birth rate in near future. And, children will need these facilities, whose budget is being reduced.

In conclusion; the recommendation, to reduce the budget of education, playing fields and recreational activities, as it stands now, has many flaws and unwarranted assumptions. If author is able to provide further evidence to answer the arguments raised above, then the validity of the recommendation could be evaluated properly.