Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government officials are to officiate the people. Their purpose is to help build the nation by solving the issues of people that are in problem. The prompt suggests that government officials should be firm on their own judgement rather than carrying out the will of people they serve. I mostly disagree with the given statement and argue that the government officials, must carry out the will of people they are designated to work for.

To begin, Government officials are workers of the government that are elected by the people, for the people and to the people. So, they must carry out the things that the people want the most. As, doing so connects the government with the people. And, the problems, solutions, priority of the people of any locality is identified. This helps in strengthening and smooth performance of any development work. For an instance, when a government official implements the project to build the road that passes through the village and swipes away few of the houses in the way. In such situation the outrage of people is unconditional and is justified as well. However, when the similar project is passed and road is constructed, by taking consent of villagers and giving additional fundings to those, whose houses will be swiped in the process, will motivate the them and working is done efficiently.

In democracy, the people are the ultimate thriving force. So, when the government officials, representative of government - elected by people, do not perform to satisfy the people then they are criticized and even get evoked from their duties. Recently, one of the Police officer-in charge of Siraha district got suspended from his duty, as he was unpleasing to the local leaders of that district and always followed his intuition. Had he been more congruous and open to the opinions of the people, it would not have happened.

Some might argue that the will of people vary with time and situation, so the one with authority must do what is right for locality even if the opinions contradict. Government official is given the authority and resources to utilise. So, they could control those who revolt against the implementation on issue that government is dealing. For an instance, when people rallied against the monarchy of Nepal the government officials were doing their duty to protect the monarch even at the cost of their lives.

In conclusion, it obviously difficult to side with or against the prompt, where the possibilities to recriminate are numerous. However, the government officials working congruously with the people and welcoming their will helps in smooth running of the administration.