Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The advancement in any field be it; science, arts, business, law and order that we relish today has all been precursored by the past events. Past events are guide to the present and it has been like that since the begining of time. The prompt suggests that knowledge of past incident cannot help people at future to make important decision: reason being, as we are unable to make connections between current and past events until we have some distance from both. I strongly disagree, with the given statement for the following reasons.

Events at past has always been a percursor for future. We have learned from our mistakes and improvised, since begining of our existance. We can all imagine what would have happen if we had been following same procedure to achieve same failure cessation again and again. But, we thrive to change, to bring revolution only after we have learne d from our past. What would have happened, if scientist in past didnot improvised the ideas that were put forth by scientist before them. We would still be swindeling around with no success at hand. For an instance, lets say , a scientist at present is given to research at a random topic, which is still of his field but out of his forte, then he first thing he would do is go through the similar research that has been conducted in the past. Then, he would acquire knowledge of what is it or how it happens how to proceed and so on? THis is not just relevant to the science field it applicable in other multi-disciplanaries. In the field of music when there were just repetation similar composition: musicians like Morzart and Beethovin to Hans Zimmer has created the new symphony. Mathmathician have come up with new equations or have solved the unsolved eqations of the pasts. Enterpreneur today are more competitive then in past.

Furthermore, our society is dynamic: we are never at par. We keep on thriving to make change followed by numerous mistakes and amendments. In stone age, people use to eat whatever they like and whenever they like; when the population started to grow and food supply ebbed then the first domestic agriculture was started to reduce famine. This is us, human, we do mistakes we learn from then improvise the technique and sustain the procedure, until further amendments are needed. Similarly, in our Judicial system we learn from our past. No, constitution is perfect: it has many loop holes to which the criminal paly with. In Nepal, before mid 1970's the was law to prevent child marriage- to protect women rights.But, later in 2011 child marriage or any kind of physical relation with the girl below age of 16 was named illigal and accused had to face 10 years in prison. See, we did something wrong in past, we had urge to wright the wrong and we corrected the wrong learning from our past.

In conclusion, some might argue, that past information cannot be applicabe at present but learning from the past has always help human kind to evolve and come at a better conclusion as aforementioned.