Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt states that, the routine administration of inoculation against the cow flue cannot be permitted. This is because of the small possibility that a person will die as a result of inoculation. The prompt for its proper evaluation needs to answer questions raised below.

Firstly, the author has not given the brief gravity of the situation. More details should be provided on the intensity of the spread of the flue, number of people infected, the nature of virus. The author says many lives could be saved but we do not know the definite number that the many represents. If the number of live that is saved is greater or less relative to number of people suffering.

Secondly, the nature of the flue is not discussed. More details should be given on the nature of the flue that if it is transferable or non-transferable and the susceptibility of the person against the flue, to know the intensity of the effects of disease.

Thirdly, the author claims that routine administration of the inoculation against the flue could save lives. However, the lucid information on meaning of routine administration is not provided. The information like number of doses and timings of the doses are not given. Moreover, the information like, if all that are suffering from the flue can be inoculated or not is not given. The information like, if the patients of other disease, old and young could be inoculated or not is not given.

Fourthly, the author claims that the small possibility of the person will die of inoculation. Here, it is not clearly mentioned that how many people might die. Also, if the death probability is higher in people who are not suffering from the flue or not suffering from the flue before inoculation.

In conclusion, the prompt as it has many flaws due to its reliance on the un warranted assumption. So, if the author could provide detailed answer to the aforementioned questions and confusion. We could then re-evaluate the validity of the prompt.