The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the recommendation, from the chair person of the West Egg Town Council, it is stated that, the residence will recycle the garbage at an significantly higher rate and as a result of which the land fill will sustain for longer time. However, befor this prompt is properly evaluated, author must provide us with some answers.

Firstly, the author mentions that the prediction of the consultant that the landfill will be completly filled has failed. But, we are not provided the previous scenario that lead the consultant to come to this conclusion. It could be that the recycling rate of garbage in West Egg Town was significantly low due to lack of awareness of the recycling in the past. And, recently may be that the council is running the recycling campaign heavily. Also, it could be that previously, the cost of garbage collection was cheap so, people did not care about the recycling then that of now.

Secondly, the author mentions that the quantity of the material for recycle will be increased from the next month, as the cost for the garbage collection will be double of the existing price. However, we are neither provided with any information on the cost of the existing price nor we know by what amount the price will increase. Also, it is stated in the prompt that, the recycling of the plastic, paper and metal will increase; however he does not give any evidance to relay on the information. Also, there is special skill and knowledge required to reuse such material to recycle, and prompt has not provided us with the evidence that the people of the West Egg Town Council are capable of recycling.

Lastly, the author mentions that in a survey respondent said that they will do more recycling in the future. However, here we are not provided any information on the type of survey, that if the survey was based on the recycling issue only or the survey was conducted for some other purpose but they also included few questions about the recycling of garbage. Also, we do not know that when was the survey conducted?, how was it conducted?, who conducted it, what are the basis to relay on the answers of the survey?, who participated in the survey?

In conclusion, the prompt as it is relies excessesively on the unwarranted assumption. And, we cannot evaluate it properly as of now. So, if the provides us with the additional information answering the above mentioned question. Then we can evaluate the reliability of the prompt properly.