43 The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council Two years ago consultants predicted that West Egg s landfill which is used for garbage disposal would be completely filled within five years During the past

It might seem logical at the first glance to agree with the mentioned prediction whereby due to the strong commitment of West Eggs' residents to recycling, the available space for waste disposal should last further than the chairman predicted. The author of the assumption relies on less credible assumptions or even unproven predictions to support his/her claim. Before the claim can be properly evaluated, some questions and points must be considered.

Firstly, one problem regarding this claim is the issue of weak correlation. The author of the assumption noted that as the charge for picking up the household waste material will increase, the citizens will recycle their waste more than they did. What if some affluent residents tend to pay further for picking up their garbage instead of attempting to recycle them? In this scenario, doubling the charge for picking up the waste does not affect the residents of West Eggs town and it would not be a strong motivation for wealthy people. This question deserves consideration before any final decision made to increase the charge for waste gathering.

Secondly, when handing survey and statistic data, it is always important to look not only at the results but also at the theoretical framework and methodology of the study being conducted, to be able to ascertain whether the reasoning is sound, or if the scientists have missed some crucial aspect or mitigating factor. The chairman needs to take into consideration how comparable are the demographics of the survey participants to those of the general population of the West Eggs' residents. If the general population is not accurately represented by the survey respondents, then it would become more difficult to support the claim that 90 percent of respondents claim that they will recycle more than past.

Another assumption made by the chairman in his prediction is centered on the idea that some of the parameters of the equation will remain unchanged, namely the fact that producing waste rate does not change and population size is stable. If the population expansion rate were to reveal a drastic increase in the West Eggs' town the amount of garbage would also increase. Representative statistical results should be potentially comparable with the population growth rate.

To conclude, despite the argument suffering from several problems and is unconvincing, we can not absolutely rely on or refute it without pursuing any additional assumptions and reasoning. The author can strengthen the argument by answering the questions above and offering more evidence. without these changes the argument is implausible and reasoning is faulty.