Many elderly peopleare no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

By ever-growing population, lifestyle is dramatically changed and children tend to entrust their elderly parents in nursing homes. Although there are a cascade of downside attributes in caregiver homes, the benefits accruing to their residents are by no means negligible.

On the plus side, the advantages of lodging in nursing homes are manifold. To begin with, they are well-equipped and provide professional facilities to care about them. That is to say, they would facilitate the life for people residing in it by employing all-rounded personnel educating in the field of geriatrics. For instance, these employees know how can address the issues in emergency situations and recognize their needs. Along with this, care homes have an up-to-date system of medicine administration which means can keep in the record their rehabbing history as a reference.

However, drawbacks cannot be ignored. The most axiomatic argument is that ageing people in the care homes gradually start getting depressed owing to often their family members would not come back to visit them for even Christmas or Thanksgiving. Then they have a sense of losing their family function. In addition to this, these people, once in a while, are surrounded by sick dwellers, therefore, they are exposed to infection as a consequence of the weakened immune system.

To conclude, living in nursing homes would be both rewarding and problematic. While these institutions are taking care of elderly individuals by professional equipment and high-tech timely system of medicine administration, people's spiritual emotion put in pressure and endanger their health as a result of a disorder in their immune system.