Many elderly peopleare no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, putting the elderly in care homes instead of taking care of them in their own houses has become usual. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from such an approach.

To begin with the positives, a significant advantage is that it is more time-efficient for the family to have the elderly in care homes rather than at home. This is because in today's society people are often running out of time and are not able to free time to take care of their parents or grand-parents. As a result, care homes are seen as very convenient infrastructures to look after the elderly. Besides time-efficiency, care homes bring safety to the elderly because doctors and nurses are available in case of an emergency. To cite an example, the elderly are more at risk to have any kind of diseases, this is why being surrounded by nurses and doctors is vital.

On the other hand, putting elderly people in nurse homes has negative aspects such as the cost of these latter. The reason for this is that in a nurse or car home everything is included from the room to the meals but also various activities. As a result, many care homes cost more than what elderly people earn. Consequently, children frequently have to participate in order to be able to keep the elderly in these structures. Another crucial disadvantage is that some elderly people can feel lonely when moving into a care home. The reason for this is that they are being separated from their friends, family, and home. For example, some elderly would rather stay at home than moving into a care home even if it means to be less comfortable in their daily life.

To summarise, despite all the advantages of care homes such as the gain of time for children and better cares for the elderly, it is important to consider that they also have disadvantages for both sides.