Some people think that international news is more important than local news. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether international news should be deemed as superior importance compared to local ones or not have evolved as a heated contentious topic. Despite some arguments refuting the role of abroad news in favour of national ones, I am more convinced that overseas news can play a far- more vital role in people's lives.

To commence with, those who place a great emphasis on local news point to the need for understanding the social minutiae of a community from the social perspective. To put it differently, through broadcasting local news, public awareness will be raised about social norms in which citizens have to admit a whole range of set criteria. This means that mandatory social conventions and code of conduct enacted in the society will be announced to people by national news, thereby making people forced to move in the set frames. A good illustration of this is clearly delineated by Islamic countries where hijab is compulsory which it has been emphasising by the national announcement in succession. This in itself leads to civil awareness.

However, societal awareness could be categorized at a lower level in this respect. From an economic outlook, to colonized nations or countries suffering from imposed crippling sanction by dominant countries, global news tends to stand in a paramount place which firmly endorses the viewpoint of supporters of international news. In other words, if the economic vitality of a country undergoes an ill revolution, it is highly likely, economic news in the global level can lay the foundation to the country to take drastic action in order to combat its own economic ostracism, as we can see in Iran today. Since the global economic situation has a profound ripple effect of the level of subsistence of people residing in these countries, the rise in the awareness of international news will play a key role in taking a down-to-earth decision for their in the years ahead. Furthermore, environmental degradation has been recognized as a global pressing matter like global warming due to emissions which require a joint effort to overcome the difficulty and it is not in the monopoly of a country.

In conclusion, from the above reasons, while acknowledging the substantial role of national news in established conventions, I would embrace that international information is of much more particular importance owing to economic and environmental point of views.