The old tradition of a family having a meal together is disappearing. Why do you think is this happening? How does it affect individuals and the community?

With the advent of modernisation, traditional lifestyle is gradually disappearing from the society. Family members no longer eat food together due to compulsions of business and emergence of an individualistic world. This is eroding the social fabric, diluting cultural identity of communities and causing psychological problems to individuals.

Due to globalisation of commerce, youngsters often have to work at distant locations. This results in disintegration of joint families to nuclear families and, consequently, parents and children are unable to consume meals together. Even when youngsters live with parents, their working hours are different and this compels them to eat food at separate times. Moreover, with the advancement of technology people are becoming more and more individualistic. The use of the internet, smartphones and fast-food is isolating youngsters not only from their elders but also from their siblings. For instance, a recent survey by a NGO revealed that in 2017 more than 90 percent youngsters in North America consume at least one meal alone every day. The figure stood at merely 29 per cent in 1970.

This development is seriously eroding the social fabric of various countries. All societies depend on communication and interaction between family members. Since most consuming meals together promotes not only interaction between family members but also creates a bond of love and care, it is vital to the social fabric. Moreover, eating food together is a part of eastern cultures and it also helps in transmitting culture from one generation to another. Consequently, having meals in isolation is gradually diluting the culture as well. Furthermore, as people eat food alone, their isolation increases and they are not able to share their feelings with others. This results in development of various psychological disorders such as depression.

In conclusion, as more and more people consume food alone due to compulsions of modern lifestyle, they are developing various diseases and losing their unique identity. If this trend continues, people will suffer from new diseases that they never encountered in the past.