In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Progress, is not something that happens suddenly or at once, it needs time. The prompt suggests that people with contrasting opinions Should be given an opportunity to put forth their thoughts on any progressive matter. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the given statement mostly for the given three reasons.

Firstly, contrasting point of view presents the counter point to the presented idea or matter. This helps to check and balance the presented points for the given topic. As a result, flaws of the ideas are determined even before the work begins. For example, in democracy when the ruling party presents any bill in the house, there is opposition to always counter it if they fell it is not in favour of people or country. Ruling party is worker with idea where as the opposition is the voice of people that finds flaws.

Secondly, everybody’s opinion is incorporated for the given issue. So, everything happens with the mutual understanding between the two contrasting parties. For example, when the there was this boarder tension between Nepal and India, the ruling party at that time took confidence of all the opposition leaders and published a new map of Nepal that incorporated the Limpiadhura, Lipulek, Kalapani.

Lastly, efficiency of work increases when the different opinions of all the people that are member of a society, party are included. As, is helps to reach to a better conclusion. Also, there is feeling of gratification among all at the time of output. So be it any social, economic or educational issue both the sides should keep their opinion based on their knowledge, past experience to come at a better output.

Some might argue that, one with the idea should be allowed to work freely as development is not just for a single person or the society it is for all. But, they should be reminded that the to keep every bodies thought on crucial matters sustains the development. So, it is important to have contrasting opinions in progressive matter.