It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Social group is the group of people of similar thoughts and believes. These groups are the one that help build the character of an individual. The prompt suggests that the association with the social group defines individual of that group. In my opinion, i mostly agree with the given statement for the following reasons.

Firstly, One learns from the group with whom he or she is closely associated. For an instance, when a child is born in a family, the child learns the social and moral behaviour from the parents and then with other members of the family. When, the child grows and starts going school he or she makes the bond with the like minded children and learns new behaviour. Thus, learning og behaviour is primarily associate with the group, so group does defines the individual.

Secondly, In politics the people of like minded are binded together with the principles they adhere. For an instance, In Nepal, the are majorly two parties that governs the country (i.e) Demactatic- Congress and Communist- UCPN and Maoist. So, the leaders and followers associated with the specific party has their specific believes and principles of building the nation. And, their believes helps us to identify therir motto and can elect as per the need of today.

Lastly, Some might argue that, it is not necessary that people of specific group exhibt specific quality. For an instance, the president or the prime-minister of the nation rather than representig their partis motto are principle, they exhibit neutral behaviour towards all the parties and sense of unity , while representing the antion in the international community. Also, such cases are rare that an odd one represents the group.

In conclusion, identification of individual is easy through our associated group. As, the social group that we blong to helps us to learn, guide and succeed in life, adhering the principles of that group.