The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A great nation is the one that has prosperity among its people. Further, its history, science and technology and rulers at past adds to its richness. The prompt as it is suggests that the general welfare of the people is vital indicator of the great nation. I mostly agree, with the given statement for the following reasons.

Firstly, for a nation to boast its greatness it should provide the citizen with the basic needs. If a country does not have proper infrastructure developed; people are dying of hunger, improper health facilities. Also, if the education facilities job opportunities are festering then, no matter, how rich the history of the nation was or it has advanced arms and ammunition. The fact cannot be ignored that the people are suffering and pleading for the help. And, nation cannot be called the great, as it is ignoring the basic components that its people right to health, education and employment.

Secondly, the nation, with proper infrastructure development and is able to provide its people with the basic fundamental rights is considered great. For an instance, a nation where the people are getting propre health facilities and get timely cure, advanced education to compete with the shrewd mind around the world as well as add in its countries benefit along with the proper food and transportation facility are much happier than the people that lacks it. Also, then only a greatness of a country is descried. On the other hand, if there is a famous artist in that nation and is acclaimed world wide and also earns handsomely. But, the artist earns for himself where majority are suffering. So, people being the core of the nation must be nurtures well.

Lastly, some might argue that the history of the great rulers and creation of the nation with the wars that were fought bravely makes or the art of the artist that has its mar on the history or the revolutionary finding in the science would make a nation great. However, they must know it is feasible to some extent and cannot be applicable always. These things are additional points that would embellish the greatness. The true greatness of nation lies in the happiness of the people, its contribution to the world peace and prosperity.

In conclusion, the greatness is a subjective matter, but the people being core and their welfare the greatness of the nation.