The following appeared in a memorandum written by the chairperson of the West Egg Town Council.

"Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material — which includes paper, plastic, and metal — should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The chairperson of the West Egg Town Council is convinced that the landfill will last longer than expected based on the current growth and expected increase in recycling. Although the author's argument may seem credible and logical at first sight, a closer examination reveals that the chairperson's claims are replete with assumptions and holes. Unless further evidence is substantiated and evaluated, it will be difficult to conclude that the landfill will not be completely filled within the next five years.

Firstly, author adduces the two-fold increase in recycling by the town residents to claim that there will be less garbage. However, we need to know the exact figures on how many residents recycled, how much more they recycled, and how much regular waste they produced. The author does not specify how many people recycled twice as much compared to the previous years. For example, if only 1% of the entire residents recyled more, then the two-fold growth will not be a significant change. Furthermore, if the total amount that these people recycled was 1% of their entire garbage in the previous years but now reuse 2%, the amount of total garbage is still 98% of all waste produced. The growth in recylcing will thus be immaterial, and garbage may quickly fill the landfill. In addition, if the total amount of waste produced by each resident increases, the growth in recycling will not have an effect. Consider when residents double the paper, plastic and metal recylced but produce three times as much other waste compared to last year. Then, the amount of waste produced can match that predicted by the consultants.

Secondly, the chairperson assumes that the predictions made by the consultants does not factor the growth in recycling. Yet, we do not know that this is true. To make his argument more coherent, the author must demonstrate that the consultants' foreshadowing did not consider the residents' commitment to recycle. If however, the consultants were aware of the strong willingness to reuse materials and factored into their expectations that people were going to recycle, then the prediction that the landfill will be completely full in five years will be accurate. In fact, it could be the case that the consultants had thought that the residents would recycle even more. Then, the available space might last shorter than predicted.

Finally, the author uses a recent survey to demonstrate an even larger amount of recycling conduced by the residents. To support the chairperson's argument, we need to know that the survey was representative of the entire population at West Egg. As it stands, the 90% can reflect the preferences of only five people or the entire residents. A biased survey, which asked only to residents who are ardent about recylcing will weaken the author's claim of a strong commitment to recyling. On the other hand, a survey that can clearly reflect the entire West Egg residents will strengthen the assumption that the town is willing to recycle.

In conclusion, the available space in West Egg's landfill might last longer than predicted. Nonetheless, as it stands, the chairperson's position is not persuasive enough. Until further evidence, such as the exact number of people recycling and the representativeness ofthe survey, is provided, the author's argument will not be able to stand rebuttal.