"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The business manager of the television station is convinced that the time spent on weather and local news should be increased back to its previous level. Based on the complaints received and the recent loss of advertising revenue from local businesses, the author suggests that the restoration will prevent further declines and increase the viewer base. However, although the argument may appear credible and logical at first sight, a closer evalution demonstrates that the author's claims are replete with assumption and holes. Until further evidence is substantiated and evaluated, it is difficult to ascertain that the a rise in the time spent on local news and the weather will lead to the benefits the author maintains.

First, the author uses the fact that the station received complaints about the coverage of stories to demonstrate the dissatisfaction of the viewers. In addition, the negative feedback implicitly serves as a reflection of general consensus of all viewers. However, the author does not clarify exactly how many and what the viewers were concerned about. The exact number and details about the complaints will help us determine the validity of the argument. For example, if only three complaints were submitted to the station and two were about the coverage, the complaints itself will not be a good indicator about the opinions of those who watch news at the channel. Furthermore, we need to know exactly what people were concerned about. The author implies that the viewers were concerned that the coverage of weather and local news was too low. However, we need to precisely if this worry was about whether the coverage was too low or too high. It could be that those who submitted their opinions were against the high coverage of local news. If so, the author's argument that we should raise the amount of time spent on rural news should be questioned because more would be unfavorable towards the decision. Such detailed information about the content and the quantity of complaints will make the argument more or less cogent.

Secondly, the decline in advertising revenues is mentioned as a reason to increase coverage of local news and the weather. However, why the companies canceled their contracts is still ambiguous. The author suggests that the companies no longer pay for their commercials because of the lower coverage. However, there may be other reasons that they have done so. For instance, the regional corporatations may have realized that social media advertising is a more effective way to market their products than television advertising. Given their small budget for marketing, they may have chosen to allocate their budgets on Instagram advertising rather than the advertising at the station. Thus, even if the stations spends more time on local news, the companies will not contract with the station again because they chose social media advertising rather than televsion advertising. Further explanations on why the companies decided to end their contract will be needed to evaluate the feasibility of restoration of local coverage.

Thirdly, even if the reason why companies chose not to contract with the station was due to the decline in the allocation of local news, it is not clear if there were additional revenues from the increase in national coverage that made up for the loss. The author states that devoting more time on local news will prevent loss in further advertising revenues. Yet, the author only includes details about the local companies in his argument. To fully determine whether the decision to devote more time will hinder additional revenue declines, we need to know if there were national corporates who have newly contracted with the television station. For example, with the growth in time spent on news about the country, bigger companies that operate nationally or even globally may be interested in the television station. If they contract with the station, it may actually earn more than the loss in the local television.

In conclusion, restoring the time on weather and local news may in fact attract more viewers and hinder further loss in revenues. However, as the author's argument stands, it is unable to withstand rebuttal. Detailed evidence, such as the amount of complaints and why companies no longer contract, will enhance the validity of the author's argument.