"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To foster future leaders, a society must allow children to fulfill their potential. At school and at home, adults must inculcate values, such as humility and kindness, within the younger generation so that they can develop into apt leaders in the future. Among these values, cooperation is indisputably one of the most important characteristic children must develop. However, cooperation alone is not enough. Collaboration, along with a healthy sense of competition, is the key to creating great leaders.

Because we live in a world that is increasingly connected, it is essential for people to work together. It is impossible to be isolated and live in complete solidarity. Therefore, from a young age, children are highly encouraged to cooperate with one another. From the moment we enter school, students are constantly asked to form groups and work together to solve problems. Whether it is simply building a sand castle as a group or solving a math problem with a partner, young people are constantly pushed to cooperate. By learning how to rely on teammates to overcome challenges and brainstorm to find new solutions as a group, people utilize this sense of collaboration they learn at home or at school to succeed in a given field.

Yet, instilling only a sense of cooperation is not enough to drive children to become fruitful. A healthy sense of competition is crucial. Cooperation alone does not motivate students enough to achieve their potential and put in effort. It is the reward from a competition that will help young children find the need to do well. Once children realize the taste of accomplishment when they win from a competition, it will be motivating for them to do even better next time and into the future. Great leaders are created when people are pushed to their limits and produce the best outcome they can achieve. Without competition and only cooperation, there will be less need for a person to do become successful.

Extreme competition is a stifling factor that may hinder children from achieving their potential, given the pressure and stress of the need to win. However, an environment of beneficial competition will galvanize students to try their best in a given assignment. In developing such auspicious competition, one must first eliminate any negative consequence of loss, such as critisicm or punishment. Instead, adults must accolade all children for their hard work in trying their best to win, while providing conspicuous awards for the winners. For instance, in the classroom, a teacher may ask children to form groups for a science project. While articulating that the best science project will receive bonus points, the teacher should recognize all groups for their effort in putting the project together. In such competitive enivronment, young students will be inspired to try their best in a given task to be rewarded.

As such, in developing future leaders, a society must instill not only collaboration but also competition. With both elements, we will be able to drive children try their best together.