A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Throughout a person's life, they generally study for 12 years during primary and secondary schools. After graduating from high school, they attend university and are given the freedom to focus on a major of their choice. But, during the first twelve years of education, a student is generally taught equivalent concepts of history, English, mathematics, science and a second language. Although it is beneficial that students are taught the comparable fundamentals from an early age, the government should not necessitate the same national curriculum to all students.

What a person learns from kindergarten through to high school acts as a base for further educational development. During elementary school and middle school, students are often devoid of the freedom to decide what courses they would like to take and are urged to take courses as the school decides for them. Although some may have a propensity for mathematics, they are still told to take history classes, even if they do not enjoy it, because such knowledge is essential in the development of the students. By forcing students to take certain courses, it allows students to develop an interdisciplinary mindset from a young age. As the world becomes increasingly convoluted, an understanding of various fields is critical. In addition, by teaching the same topics to students, it may help students find unknown interests. In fact, I did not know how much I was interested in European history until I took a history course during middle school. Therefore, there are indisputable benefits of teaching students the same curriculum.

However, such benefits does not warrant the nation to develop a national curriculum and impel all students to take it until college. First, there are many different schools with a specialty. Necessitating a national curriculum for all pupils may eschew some of these specialty schools. Take a Christian school for example. The school may want to instruct students about creation rather than the theory of evolution. However, a national curriculum may not include information about creation, as it applies only to a specific religion. If in such case that the curriculum is used, then Christian schools would not be able to teach creation and may isolate those who are interested in it. In addition, schools for disabled children require its own curriculum because students do not have the capability to follow the same curriculum. Requiring every student to take the same courses may be deleterious to the disabled. Finally, artistic or athletic prodigies may want to spend more time developing and practicing their given talent. Although it may be helpful for these students to still learn about geometry and chemistry, it will be better for them to spend more time on honing their specialities. By spending more time mastering a soccer technique or a cello trill, these children will succeed in their respective areas. Making thse children take the same curriculum will in fact become a burden for those who will not pursue a career in further studies.

In addition, by high school, many students are able to think rationally and decide for themselves what they are interested in. Therefore, many high schools allow students to choose their courses, as in college, within a given framework. For example, students are given the option to choose a second language, among Spanish, Latin, Chinese and others. The system of education will prevent students from pursuing education in their areas of interest. Therefore, because students can choose for themselves what is best for them, a national curriculum in high school is not necessary.

In conclusion, a national curriculum may have certain benefits, especially for young children. However, to allow and respect the distinct needs of all students, a government should not make the same education necessary for everyone.