The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director is convinced that Super Screen should spend additional money on advertising to reach more potential clients, based on the the number of viewers last year and the growth in positive reviews. Although the argument may seem credible and logical at first sight, a closer analysis reveals that the author's claims are replete with assumptions and holes that need to be clarified. Unless further evidence is substantiated and evaluated, it will be difficult to conclude that allocating more budget on commercials will be an effective solution.

Firstly, the advertising director uses the increase in the percentage of postive reviews by the movie reviewers as an indicator of the Super Screen's high quailty movies. However, is this growth truly reflective of the quality of the movies? We simply do not know. The movie reviewers may rate horror movies, which the general public to do not enjoy, exceptionally high. In fact, Marvel movies, which are often blockbusters, do not always have the best movie reviews. In addition, we need to know the exact number of positive reviews. For example, if favorable comments increased by 1%, while the total number of reviews, including negative feedback, decreased by 10%, then the actual number of postive reviews actually declined, which can indicate deteriorating movie quality. As such, to develop a more cogent argument, the author must provide specific details about the positive reviews.

Secondly, the author maintains that the public has a lack of awareness of the movies because less people attended Super-Screen produced movies. To make this connection, the author must demonstrate precisely how many fewer people watched the movies. The decrease can be simply one or two people. In this case, it would be an extension to say that the public is not aware of the movies, so Super Screen should spend more on commercials.

Finally, to make the argument more persuasive, we need to know if there were any other reasons why the number of viewers declined. For instance, if the economy declined and less people had money to spend on entertainment, then allocating a greater amount on advertising would not be effective. Even though people know that there are great movies at Super Screen, people would not visit because they would rather spend their money on food than movies. In addition, despite the favorable ratings, what if the movies casted a defamed actor. Although the movie itself may be of good quality, the public may simply boycott any media involving the actor. The reason why the movie viewership declined will help the director make a more informed decision.

In conclusion, assigning a larger budget on advertisements may be a prudent decision. Nonetheless, as the argument stands, it is unable to withstand rebuttal. Until the author is able to answer questions, such as why there were less viewers, the claims made by the director will not be credible enough.