The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum, from the business manager suggested that they should increase the weather and local news to its former level in order to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertisement revenues. However before this prompt is evaluated some questions must be answered.

Firstly, the author does not give a lucid evidence that the complaints the news station received were in favour of the weather and local news. It could be that the preferance of the weather news is mostly prefered in the morning rather at night. Also, regarding the complaints of the local news the prompt doesnot give a clear view if the complaints were made because the running time was curtailed or because the quality of the news content were not satisfactory.

Secondly, the reason for the cancelation of the advertisement contract is also not clear. The reason, according to the business manager, for cancelation of the adevertisement was the decrease in the running time of the local and weather news. But, to get the advertisement contract rather than increasing the running time of the late night local news the content that attracts the viewers must be focused. There is no clue if the TRP of the show is good or bad. Nobody would contract with the tv show that has low TRP as the content they are serving doesnot attract more vievers and less profit for the advertisers.

Lastly, rather than being so parochial and being so focused on the soaring of teh running timeof weather and local news; holistically the problem should be identified and worked upon.

In conclusion, the prompt as it stands has many flaws based on unwarrented assumption. If author provides the answer to the above questions that have been raise then the validity of the prompt can be reconsidered.