The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the article from the Dr. Karp, it is stated that Dr. Field's conclusion based on observation is invalid, whereas the interview centered method of studying culture is accurate in studying the culture. However, before this prompt is evaluated some of the questions must be answered.

Firstly, it is vague to assume that the situation of twenty years before and now would be same. Things could have changed drastically in these years. Like the adaptation of new method of rearing children or harsh treatment of children by the village elders. Such factors could be responsible, now, for children to remember their biological parents and talking about them. Also, the factors that Dr. Karp took in consideration for his observation-based analysis are not pointed out for comparison. As, it could be that the Dr. Fields analysis based on that time was accurate.

Secondly, human are social beings and their thoughts are mercurial. So, it could be that the interview was conducted when the children were missing their parents. Also, it could be that the questions asked in the interview triggered the essence of parents. Moreover, we are not provided with information’s such as number of participants and types of questions asked, while conducting the interview. Also, the author has not taken in account that one can lie during interview and the questions asked during were sufficient enough to reject the analysis conducted by Dr. Field.

Lastly, the research of Dr. Karp provides no good reason for the rejection of Dr. Fields analysis. As, we do not know if the remembering of parents at present will be enough to reject others analysis. Also, we do not know, what kind of questions were asked in interview. If the questions asked were majorly focused on their biological parents, then talking about the parents rather than the other villagers is obvious.

In conclusion, the prompt presented as it is, has many flaws as it is based on the unwarranted assumption. If author provides additional information and answers to the aforementioned questions then the validity of the prompt could be re-evaluated.