Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.
Reason: We are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.
The above issue claims that knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.According to me Knowing about past
will help us to make better decisions today. Past is something that we have experienced so by that we need to make sure that we do not repeat
same mistakes again. For not repeating mistakes we need to know about past thoroughly.
Knowing about past in any of the fields like business, Politics, Education is necessary.For Business one must know about the other country's past
before making partnership or dealership with that company. Without knowing their past or without any inquiery we would not know if the company is fraudulent.
The person might be glib while talking but we can know about him through his past. And thus we can make important decision for our business by knowing history.
In business, If we are finding the job then it is obvious that we will check for company's background and by that we can decide if we are taking right decision or
wrong.
It is equally important in Education.The Universities decide our Admission by knowing our grades in high school. Because we are unknown to them so they can
get our admission done by knowing our past. Although only grades are not important but it is also one of the factor for universities to know about us.
It same goes with us.It is obvious that we will also find a college that has good reputation and also has a good past. If some student has faced some issue
with some faculty that college or if some student have commited suicide due to that college's pressure or something done wrong by that college then obviously
we would not prefer that college. So it is clear that knowing about past is necessary.
Another example is If we want to lend someone money then without knowing his past how can we lend money.What if that person is fraud.We would lose our
moeny. So it wiuld be better to know past and then take decision.The chances of someone making us fool would be less.
Further the reason for it seems pointless,That we are not able to make connections between current events and past events until we have some distance from both.
There is no connection of this issue with such reason.It is not that we can make connections from past and present until we have some distance.
On the contrary there is always difference between what we want to do and what the past is making us do. Knowing the past, if we feel that we can handle the
situation then we can always go for the risky step. For example if a child is afraid of riding a bicycle because he fell down in past then he can always get courage to
ride it again and wave off that fear.
In sum, I would say that knowing about the past before taking any important decisions will always help us to take right decision.Past is like footprints of mistakes
so we can always avoid to repeat such mistakes. Taking decisions without knowing past is like making a skyscaper without solid base.