The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.
"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent.
During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most
likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University
has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget
deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."
The above argument says that last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by omni university increased by 50 percent.
And further says that during the same year Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenses for dormitory and classroom space, Most likely
because online instruction takes place via internet. In contrast over the past three years the enrollment at humana university has failed to grow and cost of
maintaining the university has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at humana university , we should initiate and
actively promote online degree programs like omni.
The argument claims that in last year the enrollment of students increased by 50 percent but they fails to mention that how many students were initially enrolled
in that university. They try to say that because the program was online so there were increase in students. But actually there is no such proof showing reason
for students to join that program.Further says that Omni showed decrease in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space mostly because online instruction
take place via internet. Eventhough the university started online course but the expense of internet and getting latest computers for teachers to take lectures would
result same for the university. Even though the University thought that there is less expense but it is same after all. And salaries for teacher remain same.
There might be a reason that the university has invested in Solar panal and so the electricity is saved.
Talking about hanuman university, they say that it has failed to grow and cost of maintainig the building has increased. They assumed that the university has failed
because they are not offering online education. But there might be some other reason for them to fail. And it is obvious that if they have failed the cost for
Maintaining would be onerous.
They further suggest that to increase the enrollment and solve the problem of budget at Humana University they should initiate online program like Omni But there
is no confirmation here that after this step the university will surely grow. It is a matter of risk that even after starting online class what if students dont join this
university and ofcourse the online course is not only factor. There may be the reason that the students dont like their teaching pattern.
It is not obvious for omni too that their growth is because of online program. There might be the reason that students like their teaching pattern or students find
this university nearer than humana university .There are lot of factors for humana university to not grow like omni. There might be location issue or might that
students dont find their teaching pattern interesting. Online classes is not the only reason possible.
In sum, i find this argument unjustified. In order to convince the writer must find some better reasons.