The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In West Meria Public Health Council report, it is stated that to ebb the no of absentees in work and school West marine people should increase the consumption on fish and its by product- Ichthaid. The author came to this conclusion based on the report that nearby East Marine, where fish consumption is high, has very low number of patients suffering from cold. However, before this recommendation three questions should be answered.

Firstly, validity of the report itself is questionable. We do not know, when the survey was conducted? From the information provided we do not know is all the residents in that area had participated in survey. As, it could have been that people, who love fish had only appeared in the survey. There is no information whatsoever that, either, how will the vegetarian family or fish allergic will comply with this innovation.

Secondly, it could be that, since one can treat common cold at home by consuming homely remedies visit to the doctors at East Meria was low. The report informs us that the visit to doctors was less by a patient of cold, it could be other way around that the number of patients was so high; they could not get too many appointments.

Lastly, one can be absent of marid number of reasons, but, since giving cold as a reason has been working out for others; So, everyone is giving same reason as an excuse. Also, there has not been mentioned any information about the efficacy of Ichthaid, which brand to trust or how to extract fish oil. So, even if it is a good idea to suggest people it will only cause dilemma.

Since, the recommendation as it stands, has many flaws at it is based on unwarranted assumptions. If author could provide answers to the above questions, then the credibility and validity of the recommendation can be given a thought.